ExHILP 2017 @ Técnico Lisboa

2nd Conference on Extremely High Intensity Laser Physics

Register Submit abstract

ExHILP 2017

The Extremely High-Intensity Laser Physics (ExHILP) conference will be held at Instituto Superior Tecnico in Lisbon (Portugal) from 5th to 8th September 2017. This is a second edition of the conference first held in Heidelberg two years ago - more details about the first edition can be found here.

A distinguishing aspect of the conference is the attention devoted to students and young researchers. On one hand, apart from usual technical talks held by invited speakers, tutorial lectures by distinguished speakers will be devoted especially to explain the basic concepts and the principles of strong-field physics in a pedagogical way. On the other hand, an entire session will be dedicated to talks presented by students and young researchers together with a poster session. The conference will be free of charge i.e. no registration fee.

The following scientific topics will be the main focus of the conference:
  • New High-Intensity Laser Facilities
  • Ionization and Relativistic Atomic Physics
  • Experimental Progresses in High-Intensity Laser-Matter Interaction
  • Thomson and Compton Scattering, and Radiation Reaction
  • Electron-Positron Pair Production
  • Electromagnetic Cascades
  • Exotic Physics with High-Intensity Lasers
The submission portal and more detailed information about the meeting are now available in this webpage. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us at exhilp at tecnico.ulisboa.pt.

Important Dates
  • Registration & Abstract Submission close: 14th July
  • Conference: 5th - 8th September

ExHILP Scientific Programme Committee: Tom Heinzl, Burkhard Kaempfer, Antonino Di Piazza, Stephan Bulanov, Gianluca Sarri, Manuel Hegelich, Thomas Grismayer, Stefan Weber, Chang Hee Nam, Matthew Zepf, Mattias Marklund, Christoph H. Keitel, Sergei Bulanov, Luís O. Silva, Emmanuel d’Humières, Laurent Gremillet, B. F. Shen.

ExHILP Advisory Steering Committee: Sergei Bulanov, Christoph H. Keitel , Mattias Marklund , Chang Hee Nam, Luís O. Silva , Matthew Zepf .

ExHILP Local Organising Committee: Luís O. Silva (Chair), Thomas Grismayer (Co-Chair), Marija Vranic, Fábio Cruz, Fabrizio Del Gaudio, Paulo Ratinho, Ana L. Matias.

ExHILP Poster (printable version): available here